Welcome to the Lafayette County Education Page.

Grade Schools

Lafayette County School District

Oxford School District

Oxford-Lafayette School of Applied Technology

Oxford University School

Regents School of Oxford


The University of Mississippi

Northwest Mississippi Community College


Lafayette County and Oxford Public Library


Originally located in an upper room of the City Hall in 1930, the Lafayette County & Oxford Public Library, which is a branch of the First Regional Library, moved to its first building on Madison Avenue in 1964, which now houses the district attorney’s office. It was the first integrated building in Oxford. In March of 1977, the Library moved to its present location at 401 Bramlett Boulevard into a new 16,300 square foot two storied building. An addition of 10,000 square feet, which includes a large auditorium and two extra meeting rooms was added in 1977.

The Lafayette County & Oxford Public Library is a joint venture between the Lafayette County Board of Supervisors and the Oxford Board of Aldermen with funding from both the county and city.

The Library is open Monday through Thursday from 10am to 8pm, Friday and Saturday from 10am to 5:30pm, and Sunday from 2 to 5pm.

The Lafayette County & Oxford Public Library is a member of the First Regional Library, a public library system serving, DeSoto, Lafayette, Panola, Tate and Tunica counties. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in one of the five counties is eligible for a free library card. Your First Regional Library card can be used at any of the thirteen branches in the system. The replacement cost for a lost card is $1.00. The fee for a non-resident library card is $20.00 per year.

Contact Information

Physical Address: 401 Bramlett Boulevard, Oxford, MS 38655
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 1240, Oxford, MS 38655
Telephone: 662-234-5751
Dial a Story: 662-234-5021
Fax 662-234-3155


Dorothy Fitts
Telephone: 662-234-5751
Fax: 662-234-3155