Visit the Lafayette County Tax Collector’s office located at 300 N. Lamar Blvd., Suite 103, Oxford, MS 38655, to purchase a car tag.
The state of Mississippi requires that you buy your tag within seven working days of the car’s purchase date to avoid penalties. You have a 15 day grace period for renewing your car tag without penalties. Mississippi does not have a temporary tag or drive out tag.
The Department of Revenue has compiled a list of frequently asked questions for your reference. These apply to all counties in Mississippi:
Important Tag Information Here from the Department of Revenue
Penalites on a new purchase are assessed at 5% on the 8th day for 15 days. (If out of county add 48 hours then additional 5% each additional 30 days, with a maximum of 25%). For a renewal, penalities are assessed at 5% on the 16th day, 5% each additional 30 days, with a maximum of 25%. For a non-resident, penalities are assessed at 5% on the 31st day, 5% each additional 30 days, with a maximum of 25%. At the maximum 25% penalty, all legislative credit is forfeited. Note: All holidays or days the office is closed are not calculated into the system.
Vehicle tags must be renewed every year. The Department of Revenue will send you a courtesy registration renewal notice before your current registration expires.
You can renew your car tag in three ways:
- In person: Visit the Lafayette County Tax Collector’s office located at 300 N. Lamar Blvd., Suite 103, Oxford, MS 38655. You will need your renewal notice or your current certificate of registration and a form of payment.
- By mail: You can mail your renewal notice and your payment to 300 N. Lamar Blvd., Suite 103, Oxford, MS 38655.
Any vehicle, in working order or not, must be registered and tagged. To buy a car tag, you must visit the Tax Assessor’s Office with your title and driver’s license in-hand.
Courtesy tag statements are mailed prior to the first day of the month they are due to be renewed. For more information about car tags, please call (662) 234-6006.