Tax Assessor/Collector

The Lafayette County Assessor/Tax Collector is responsible for keeping and maintaining records of all taxable property in Lafayette County, determining property values, and collecting and settling all ad valorem taxes on personal property, real property and public utilities. These duties include registration of mobile homes and aircraft, business licenses, and license plates, titles, use and sales tax on motor vehicles.

The Tax Assessor is not responsible for setting the tax rate. He or she is responsible only for assessing the value of taxable property.

Pay Property Taxes

Property taxes are due by February 1 each year. Property taxes, mobile home taxes and car tag renewals can be paid at the Tax Collector’s office, over the phone or online via Delta Computer Systems, Inc., linked below. Accepted forms of payment are cash, credit card, money order or personal check with a driver’s license and phone number. Debit and credit cards are charged a 2.35% fee.

Pay Personal Property Taxes Online
Pay Property Taxes Online
Online Car Tag Payments & Renewal
Pay Mobile Home Taxes Online

Personal Property

Taxable personal property includes automobiles, trucks, mobile homes, trailers, campers, airplanes and business property. Personal property taxes are payable online via Delta Computer Systems, Inc., linked above.

DELINQUENT PERSONAL PROPERTY OR MOBILE HOME TAXES will be handled by AFCS. 

Real Property

Taxable real property includes land, buildings and other structures. Single family homes occupied by an owner with homestead are assessed at 10% of the appraised value, instead of the normal 15%. Appraisal date is January 1st each year. Property taxes are payable online via Delta Computer Systems, Inc., linked below.

Maps and Appraisal Information

Tri-State Consulting Services, Inc., linked below, houses all of the Lafayette County’s tax appraisal information, tax sale listings, maps and property breakdowns.

Tri-State Consulting Services, Inc.

Contact Information

Tax Collector: (662) 234-6006 (Tags, Titles, Collections, County Privilege Licenses)
Tax Assessor: (662) 234-5562 (Real & Personal Property Assessments, Homestead Exemptions, Maps/Aerials)
Fax: (662) 238-7992

Tax Assessor’s Office Staff

Lane Martin
Deputy Tax Assessor, part-time
Email: lmartin@lafayettecoms.com

Alta Byrd
Deputy Tax Assessor
Email: abyrd@lafayettecoms.com

Stephanie Mills
Deputy Tax Assessor
Email: stephaniem@lafayettecoms.com

Tax Collector’s Office Staff

Shelia Kelly
Deputy Tax Collector/Bookkeeper
Email: skelly@lafayettecoms.com

Mary McCain
Deputy Tax Collector/ Assistant Bookkeeper
Email: mmccain@lafayettecoms.com

Sophia Sawin
Deputy Tax Collector
Email: ssawin@lafayettecoms.com

Jasmine Rucker
Deputy Tax Collector
Email: jrucker@lafayettecoms.com

Kristy Hollowell
Deputy Tax Collector
Email: khollowell@lafayettecoms.com

Kelly Smith
Deputy Tax Collector
Email: ksmith@lafayettecoms.com

Kori Cupps
Deputy Tax Collector
Email: kcupps@lafayettecoms.com

Spenser Russell
Deputy Tax Collector
Email: srussell@lafayettecoms.com