County News

Get a Disabled Veterans Plate?

Disabled American Veteran license plates are issued to veterans (or surviving spouse) who have verification from the Veteran’s Affair Board certifying that they have a 100% service-related disability.  One vehicle that is owned by a qualified veteran is exempt from all ad valorem and privilege taxes; however, there is a $1.00 fee for this plate….

File for Homestead Exemption

Homestead exemptions require an individual to pay taxes on only 10% of the assessed value of their property, rather than the normal 15%. A homestead exemption can only be applied for in the Assessor/Tax Collector’s Office. These can be filed between January 2nd and April 1st each year. If the 1st of April falls on…

Buy or Renew a Car Tag

Purchase Visit the Lafayette County Tax Collector’s office located at 300 N. Lamar Blvd., Suite 103, Oxford, MS 38655, to purchase a car tag. The state of Mississippi requires that you buy your tag within seven working days of the car’s purchase date to avoid penalties. You have a 15 day grace period for renewing…

Get a Disabled Car Tag

To receive a disabled parking placard and plate, you must have a completed Mississippi Disabled Parking Application from your doctor sent to the Tax Collector. This can be faxed, mailed or filed in person. Any eligible person may only have two license plates and two placards.

Bid in a County Tax Sale

Tax sales are held online at www.govease.com.  They take place on the last Monday of August, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily until all parcels are auctioned. Individuals must register online prior to being approved to bid. There is no fee to register, however bidders must be able to provide their Social Security Number…

Find the Owner For a Car Tag Number

The Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) protects personal information included in motor vehicle records. Information may only be released to applicants that meet an exemption noted on the Records Request form. The DPPA keeps your personal information private by restricting who has access to the information. The law limits access to your social security…

Pay Property Taxes

Property taxes are due by February 1 each year. Property taxes, mobile home taxes and car tag renewals can be paid at the Tax Collector’s office, over the phone or online via Delta Computer Systems, Inc., linked below. Accepted forms of payment are cash, credit card, money order or personal check with a driver’s license…