Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of Lafayette County. The Board consists of five supervisors with one elected from each of the five districts in the county to serve a term of four years. The Board of Supervisors carry out a variety of duties, many mandated by state law, including:

  • Adopting the annual budget
  • Setting tax rates
  • Adopting orders, resolutions or ordinances that involve county affairs
  • Promoting the growth and development of Lafayette County
  • Appointing individuals to carry out the daily business of the county such as Attorney, Comptroller, County Administrator, Engineer, Purchase Clerk and Road Manager

Contact Information

Address: 300 N. Lamar Blvd., Oxford, MS 38655
Telephone: (662) 234-6123
Fax: (662) 234-5402

David O’Donnell
Board Attorney
Address: 1403 Van Buren Ave., Suite 103, Oxford, MS 38655
Telephone: (662) 234-0900
Fax: (662) 234-3557

The Board Attorney is an appointed position pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. Sec. 19-3-47, which authorizes the Board of Supervisors to annually appoint an attorney who is to act as the County’s general counsel in all official matters coming before the Board of Supervisors and other elected County officials.

Related Pages

County Administrator

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Subscribe to Meeting Agendas and Newsletters

Fields marked with an * are required